Malay OCR

Malay Language

The Malay language (Bahasa Melayu/البهاس ملايو) is the national language of Malaysia and Brunei, and an official language of Singapore. It is spoken natively by the Malays in Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, and Brunei, as well as many people of Thai descent. It is also known as Bahasa Melayu in the Riau Islands of Indonesia and Pattani (Malay: ภาษาพัทลุง) in Thailand. The language is also spoken by some communities in Australia (particularly Sydney), Cambodia and India.