Kannada OCR

Kannada Language

Kannada (ಕನ್ನಡ) is a language spoken in India and the official language of the state of Karnataka. It is also one of the 22 official languages recognized by the Indian constitution. The Kannada script (Kannada: ಸ್ವಾತ್ತು ಕನ್ನಡ ಭಾಷಾ) is used to write the Kannada language and is one of the oldest known forms of writing in India. The Kannada script is derived from Brahmi and dates back to at least the 4th century CE. The Kannada language is written with forty-nine letters, fifteen vowel symbols, and thirty-three consonants, making it one of the most complex writing systems in South Asia.